Vine wins maiden Victorian Road Series event, Barrow reigns supreme for Mt Baw Baw three-peat

Canberra’s Jay Vine has once again proved he is a rider to watch when the road goes uphill, taking line honours in the 19th edition of the Mt Baw Baw Alpine Resort Classic on Sunday.

2019 Mt. Baw Baw Alpine Resort Classic Elite A Men Winner

Twenty-three-year-old Vine took to the start line in Warragul alongside five of his Nero Bianchi teammates before claiming his maiden Victorian Road Series event.

Vine is riding high on confidence after finishing fourth overall at the Mansfield Tour last month and third overall at the UCI 2.2 New Zealand Cycle Classic in January.

Vine took out the 105 kilometre Findex A Grade in a time of 3 hours 16mins – the fastest time since 2008 when the race was slightly shorter at 97 kilometres.

“The racing is always quality in Victoria, so between Mansfield and Baw Baw, the team have had great success and have taken some good experience away from both weekends,” said Jay.

“The race is a good form finder and test leading into the (National Road Series) Grafton to Inverell which is just over a month away.

We don’t often get to ride through towns in a point to point race so riding through the little villages was pretty cool and the whole event was run super smoothly.”

Veteran Mark O’Brien (InForm TM MAKE) finished second, 1minute 12secs in arrears while Rudy Porter (InForm TM MAKE) rounded out the podium, a further 3min 54secs back.

In the Baw Baw Shire Women’s A Grade, Melbourne’s Justine Barrow (RoxSolt Attaquer) took out the race for the third time, making her the most successful elite female in the event’s history.

2019 Mt. Baw Baw Alpine Resort Classic Women Winners

Barrow finished 1min 05secs ahead of second-placed Nicole FRAIN (Hobart Wheelers) and 2mins in front of Madeline WRIGHT (Albury-Wodonga Cycling Club).

“Crossing that finish line in first place yesterday was a pretty special feeling, made even more special because I had crossed the line in second place the last two years,” said Barrow who notched up her 6th participation in the race.

“This year’s Baw Baw Classic had, by far, the best weather conditions – perfect for a bike race (and no snow in sight!). I really appreciated racing the beautiful roads up until Baw Baw with the sun shining down through the tree canopy.

I have a love-hate relationship with Mount Baw Baw. As a climber, who has now won on Baw Baw three times, there is an appreciation of this mountain. However, looking up from the Gantry at what is about to come continues to fill me with trepidation and climbing it never gets any easier.

I look forward to returning to defend my title next year in the 20th edition of the race,” concluded Barrow.

In the Baw Baw Cycles Women’s B Grade, Zoe BLOORE (Alpine Cycling Club) took the win in a time of 2h27:44.

Hawthorn’s Gabrielle ELENIUS (2h27:47) claimed the KSJ Events Women’s C Grade race over clubmates Angela MACRAE and Meg BROWN.

Paul SPEED (The Pirates Sporting Club) powered home to win Mt Baw Baw B Grade in a time of  3h53:10.

Travis STEWART (Carnegie Caulfield CC) added the Yeatman Microbiology C Grade title to his resumé.

Frankies Masters A Grade was won by Clint PERRETT (Hanna Racing) for the second year in a row.

Paul COLLINS (Latrobe City Cycling Club) claimed victory in the Findex Masters B Grade.

Brad THEXTON (Hawthorn Cycling Club) won Wakefield, Vogrig & Boote Masters C Grade.

2019 Mt. Baw Baw Alpine Resort Classic Grade Winners

Race Director and Warragul Cycling Club President Karin Jones:

“Congratulations to all the competitors who conquered the climb to Mt Baw Baw. On behalf of the Warragul Cycling Club I would like to acknowledge and thank our volunteers and event partners who recognise the history and stature of this great race and we look forward to presenting the 20th edition in 2020”

Click here for full results.

This entry was posted in #BBC2019. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.


Let's Go Motorhome Hire